Regional States

The land area of Ethiopia is estimated at about 1.1 million square kilometer and the current population is approximately 79 million, of which more than 84 percent live in rural areas. Ethiopia is a Federal Democratic Republic composed of 9 National Regional states: namely Tigray, Afar, Amhara, Oromia, Somali, Benishangul-Gumuz, Southern Nations Nationalities and People Region (SNNPR), Gambella And Harari and two Administrative states (Addis Ababa City administration and Dire Dawa city council). The national regional states as well as the two cities administrative councils are further divided in eight hundred woredas and around 15,000 kebeles (5,000 Urban & 10,000 Rural)

The Regional States of Ethiopia

  • Tigray Regional State
  • Afar Regional State
  • Amhara Regional State
  • Oromia Regional State
  • Somali Regional State
  • Benishangul – Gumuz Regional State
  • SNNP Regional State
  • Harari Regional State
  • Gambella Regional State

Chartered Cities

  • Addis Ababa City Administration
  • Dire Dawa City Administration