Government Structure

System of Government: Federal democratic Republic. A new constitution adopted in 1995 introduced a federal system of government and established the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE). Federalism has not only maintained unity and peace among the peoples, but also prevented the dominance of the ruling party and enhanced public participation in national affairs. The federal government is responsible for national defense, foreign relations and general policy of common interest and benefits. The State Council has the power of legislation on matters falling under State jurisdiction. The Council has power to draft, adopt and amend the state constitution. The State administration constitutes the highest organ of executive power.
State Structure:
Form of Government: parliamentarian form of government.
State of the Federation: nine member states are delimited on the bases of settlement patterns, language identity and consent of the people concerned. Member states of the Federal Democratic Republic are:-

  • The State of Tigray
  • The State of Afar
  • The State of Amhara
  • The State of Oromia
  • The State of Somalia
  • The State of Benshangul/ Gumuz
  • The State of the Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples.
  • The State of the Gambela people
  • The State of the Harari people